Setting The P.A.C.E. With Housework

I feel like that song;  Just Another Manic Monday – these are the days when you wish your bed was already made!

I just can’t take the chaos anymore!  My house is so messy and disorganized.  We moved into a house half the size of our last one when I quit my job, and we did get rid of quite a bit.  However, when we moved in I wasn’t able to get things unpacked and organized in a good working manner.

Being in a messy, cluttered home can actually make Fibromyalgia/Chronic Fatigue worse.  The time it takes to locate things uses a lot of energy and that’s a very precious commodity.  On days when brain fog is at its worst, the mess just causes an incredible amount of confusion and frustration in the mind.  Honestly, it’s impossible to do anything we enjoy like crafting, sewing, etc., when we have to clear off two layers of junk piled on top of the kitchen table before we can start.

Getting organized and getting systems in place that work can mean a much happier life!

I love flylady.net; her system is excellent.   I’ve tried to adapt a few things of hers like her Holiday Control Journal – you might want to check it out – it’s a great way to help get the holidays in place without a last minute rush.  But I have to tell you I can’t keep up with her. There are a few other websites like iheartorganizing.blogspot.com that I love to follow that have great tips and strategies for cleaning and organizing.  I do recommend them and think they have so much to offer by way of tips and systems that work.  The biggest problem I found with all these sights is what they list to do in a day or over the course of one month; it isn’t something my body is going to allow me to do.  I have to attack this task in a much different manner.

Keep up theP.A.C.E.

My husband came up with this little acronym – P.A.C.E. ~ Prioritize Activities to Conserve Energy.  It’s become my new motto.  I think it can easily be applied to housekeeping too!  When we only have so much energy in our day we have to decide what things are most important.

I’ve had to lower my standards on how I’d like the house to be.  I’m trying to be ok with that, but it can still be hard.  I really like things perfectly organized and pretty!  Even with lowering my standards a bit I still don’t have the house working in a way that’s right for me.

I’ve decided to push our house toward a minimalist lifestyle.  I know a lot out there on minimalism makes it seem almost like a cult – but don’t worry, I didn’t drink any Kool-Aid.  I can just appreciate the fact that having less “stuff” to shift around, organize and clean leaves you more time for actual living in your house.  After you cut through all the clutter and pare down to the items you love, you actually set yourself up for a more fulfilling life.

It’s been a lot to consider and to be honest I had no clue where to start.  I finally ended up picking the smallest area of our home; the linen closet.  I thought if I started small it would give me some quick gratification and get some momentum going to take on larger areas.  I jumped in and was actually able to finish the job in one day.  I took my husband’s advice and worked for about 10 minutes then took about 10 minutes to rest.   I threw out a bunch of stuff we don’t need and don’t use.

At this point of the game I’m not focused on making things pretty; yet.  That will come!  But first I need to get things organized and working for our family.

cleaned linen closet

I think the linen closet was a huge success and everything is organized, containerized and labeled.

Tell me some tricks and tips you have for keeping your house in order!  Next Monday we can talk a bit about our kitchen and menu planning!

3 thoughts on “Setting The P.A.C.E. With Housework

Leave a Reply

